Mad Lab

I’ve only been drawing with coloured pencils for a couple of months so I’m still figuring out a method that works for me. Hatching feels most comfortable, although I sometimes drift into full on shading as I’m hatching, like I did with the hair here.

This is drawn in a Hannehmühle Nostalgie sketchbook from a Sktchy photo provided by Mad Lab Studio. I used a range of coloured pencils – I have a wide selection which includes lots of Prismacolors, a few Derwent Artists pencils, and a very Polychromos and Bruynzeels.

Published by

hareinthemoon

I love drawing things. These days I am rarely found without a pen, pencil or stylus in my hands. In my working life I spend a lot of time in meetings and classrooms, reading papers and strategies, so my home life provides a creative antidote to all that! I also have chronic pain, lots of it. I have scoliosis, fibromyalgia and CRPS, so my life is a balancing act, trying to balance work, which make me feel part of the real world, with pain, which is ever present, and art, which soothes my pain.

Leave a comment